Parish Pastoral Council


Purpose of Parish Pastoral Councils

Parish Pastoral Councils enable priests and people to work together to build up dynamic Christian communities that are characterised by faith, evangelisation, worship and service. To this end they discern what is best for the parish in light of the gospel, the church’s teaching and what the Holy Spirit is saying through the People of God.

The major tasks of the council include:

  • Reflection & Planning
: Discerning the needs of the parish community and involving the whole parish in response to the needs.
  • Animation
: Enabling the baptised to discover their call as disciples of Christ by discerning the gifts of the parishioners and developing them through the provision of training and on-going formation.
  • Action
: Providing structures that will marry the needs of the parish with the gifts and resources in the parish.
  • Communication
: Ensuring that effective dialogue takes place within the parish, the diocese and the wider community.
  • Evaluation
: Reviewing the life and activities of the parish so that parishioners might have a sense of proceeding towards bringing about the reign of God.

Source: Ferguson, J. (2005) ‘A handbook for parish pastoral councils’. Columba Press, Dublin.

About Newry Parish Pastoral Council

Newry Parish Pastoral Council was first formed in June 2011.  Members are expected to serve a minimum of three years and a maximum of six. A new Parish Council was recruited during Spring 2023. The new Parish Council term began in June 2023. The council meets once monthly from September to June each year.

Current Parish Pastoral Council Members

Office Holders

President: Canon Francis Brown. ADM

Chair: John Rooney

Vice Chair: Kathleen O’Hare

Secretary: John Mills


Dara Cosgrove
Fr. Carlos (ex officio)
Fr. Alphonsus (ex officio)
Fr. Wojciech (ex officio)
Annie Munroe
Lisa Mullan
Catherine Fitzpatrick
Catherine Kerrin
Catherine McGuigan
Catriona Regan
Chacko Baby
Ciaran Hanna
Eamon O’Hare
Glenn Ryan
Martin Goss
Michelle Morgan
Patricia McMahon
Siju George
Siobhan Burns
Suni Chacko
Teresa McAteer
Treasa Davey
Celin Kujumon

Contact the Parish Pastoral Council

Please contact the parish office if you have a query relating to the Parish Pastoral Council.